Ecological Formulas: Tri Salts

UPDATE ON TRI-SALTS AND VITAMINS

A few individuals on the forum use the Ecological Tri Salts to mitigate their allergic reactions.  I was especially interested in the product after Kristy posted this statement:

“One other thing I do is take a dose of Tri-salts. Ecological Formulas Tri-Salts contains calcium, magnesium and potassium. It works best if added to something slightly acidic like water with a few drops of lemon or lime juice or vinegar of your choice. During an allergic reaction, fluids are stolen from certain areas of the body and deposited in the wrong place which is the cause of swelling, diarrhea or anaphylaxis. The tri-salts help to mitigate the damage from the fluid extraction because that fluid extraction would leave us deficient in all three salts.”

This really intrigued me so I went searching online.  I found the information below from Woodlands Healing Research Center in Pennsylvania.

What To Do For Acute Food Sensitivity Reactions

For acute food sensitivity reactions, buffered vitamin C, alkali salts (baking soda, BiCarb Formula, Tri Salts, etc), histamine and heparin neutralizing drops, and other remedies can be used to decreased the severity of the resultant symptoms. Recommended doses are as follows:

      • Buffered Vitamin C, 1000-2000 mg, taken as a powder or capsule form, every 15 to 30 minutes until the reaction clears. You may get loose stools or diarrhea if too much is taken, but otherwise, there is no harm in taking these dosage recommendations.
      • Bicarb Formula or Tri Salts, 2-4 capsules or ½ tsp of the powder mixed in 4-8 oz of water every 15-30 minutes until the reaction clears. Children’s dose for age 3 or less is 1 capsule or 1/8 tsp, for ages 3-6 1 or 2 capsules or ¼ tsp. Alternatively, one can mix 1/4 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp baking soda in a 8 oz glass of water and take 2 to 4 ounces every 15-30 minutes as needed. Those with hypertension and heart failure should not take trisalts, BiCarb formula or baking soda unless directed by their physician.
      • Food Allergy Neutralization Drops, if tested and on this type of treatment, these can also be used to treat acute food sensitivity reactions. They may be taken every 15 minutes until the reaction clears.”

Part of my allergic reaction is extreme swelling.  I look 5 months pregnant within 24 hours.  Not sexy.  My shoulders swell and I look like a linebacker, also my face swells.  It’s just not pretty…I feel like hiding from my husband.  I am hoping and praying the tri-salts help to mitigate the reactions.  I wanted to use the Enzymes but they just aren’t safe.  I found the tri-salts online at IHerb (love that store) and ordered them when I made my noodle order (Mung Bean and Kuzu Pasta).  I plan to try them soon.  I’ll update you guys to let you know how it goes!  Fingers are crossed!

UPDATE:  I’ve been using the tri-salts for about a week now with no adverse reactions.  They have really helped with the swelling. I am very, very pleased.

2 thoughts on “Ecological Formulas: Tri Salts

Questions? Comments? Want to say hi?

